About

« Through the questions that cross my generation, there is this particular feeling of excitement mixed with fear inherent in every great revolution.

The Machine — culmination of the knowledge that we as a species have accumulated — is colonizing every system, and therewith, each part of our physical world is digitalized. What we hear, watch, read, say, is in a digital format. Relationship we have with our friends, others and the outside world, are filtered by our screens.

We are wandering in digital landscapes.

From Interfaces to temporal windows opened on other realities, the present is continuously disrupted, and the space-time, copy-pasted.

Natural | Artificial
Organicity | Mecanicity
continuous Space | interrupted Time
are all concepts used in my last musical considerations.
» 

Biography

Paris-based composer, Samir Amarouch writes music equally inspired by composers such as Grisey, Sciarrino or Romitelli, by the electronic musicians such as Rashad Becker, Oval, or Mark Fell, and by traditional music, such as Gnawa music. Transcribing in the instrumental or vocal domain natural sounds (bird songs, wolves howling sound, or other soundscape) and artificial sounds (as synthetic sounds, vocoder, or others effects from electronic music), he develops a unique aesthetic querying our relationship with environment and technology.


He worked with the Ensemble InterContemporain, the Lucern Alumni Ensemble, The duet Xamp, the harpsichord player Orlando Bass, the conductor Simon Proust, Julien Leroy, InSolitus Ensemble, Vocalists 20.21., the german Mozaik Ensemble, and the symphonic orchestra Orchestre +. Current projects include a new work for Risonanze Erranti Ensemble at Gesellschaft für Neue Musik in february, and a piece for Ensemble for the Lucern Festival in August 2021.

Born in France in 1991, Samir Amarouch has just finished his Master Degree in composition and new technology (S. Gervasoni, L. Naón, Y. Maresz & O. Saladriguez’ class.) with unanimous congratulation of the jury at Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris. In 2019, he graduate with the highest mention from C. Ledoux’ analysis class. He studied classical guitar with J. Mathelin and J.-M. Zvellenreuther at Boulogne Billancourt Conservatoire (prix with unanimous congratulation of the jury in 2013), composition with Jean-Luc Hervé (prix with unanimous congratulation of the jury in 2015) and musicology in Paris Sorbonne University (Master in 2014). He had private lessons from T. Murail, W. Rihm, D. Amman, & P. Eötvös.

 

His work Ceux-là sont la nuit for harp, viola, flute won the Prize of Boulogne Billancourt in 2014. He is a recipient of the Meyer’s Fondation Grant. In 2019, a recognition award was granted to him by the french fine arts Academy. In 2020, the Ernst Von Siemens Musikstiftung awarded him the Composition Prize. 

samir-amarouch_feuer.jpg

À propos

« Il y a, dans les questionnements qui traversent ma génération, cette forme d’excitation mêlée d’angoisse propre à toute grande révolution.

 

La machine — aboutissement de toute la connaissance accumulée par notre espèce — colonise tous les milieux et avec elle, chaque parcelle de notre monde est numérisée. Ce que nous écoutons, ce que nous regardons, ce que nous lisons, ce que nous nous disons, est sous forme numérique. Les relations que nous entretenons avec l’extérieur, nos amis et les autres passent par le prisme de nos écrans.

 

Nous errons dans des paysages numériques.

 

D’interfaces en fenêtres temporelles ouvertes sur d’autres mondes, le présent est sans cesse interrompu et l’espace-temps copié-collé.

 

Naturel / Artificiel

    Organique / Mécanique 

Espace continu / Temps discontinu

sont autant de concept qui nourrissent mes dernières réflexions.  » 

Biographie

Compositeur de musique acoustique et électronique, Samir Amarouch écrit une musique inspirée tout autant par les compositeurs Grisey, Sciarrino ou Romitelli, par les musiciens de musique électronique Rashad Becker, Oval ou Mark Fell, ou par les musiques traditionnelles, en particulier la musique Gnawa. En transcrivant dans le domaine instrumental ou vocal des sonorités naturelles (comme les chants d’oiseaux, les hurlements des loups, ou autres paysages sonores) et artificielles (telles que les sons de synthèses, les vocodeurs et autres effets issus de la musique électronique), il développe une esthétique singulière qui questionne notre rapport à l’environnement et à la technologie.
 

Il a collaboré notamment avec l'Ensemble InterContemporain, le Lucern Alumni Ensemble, le duo Xamp, le claveciniste Orlando Bass, les chefs Simon Proust, Edo Frenkel, et Julien Leroy, l’ensemble InSolitus, l’ensemble vocal 20.21., l’ensemble Berlinois Mozaik et l’orchestre symphonique vosgien l’Orchestre +.

Né en France en 1991, Samir Amarouch poursuit actuellement la classe d'improvisation de Vincent Lê Quang et Alexandros Markéas au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris à la guitare électrique. Il a étudié la guitare avec Jean Mathelin, puis Jean-Marc Zvellenreuther au conservatoire de Boulogne Billancourt (DEM mention très bien à l’unanimité du jury en 2013), la composition avec Jean-Luc Hervé (DEM mention très bien avec félicitations du jury en 2015), et la musicologie à la Sorbonne (Master Recherche en 2014). Depuis 2015 il étudie dans la classe d’analyse de Claude Ledoux du CNSMDP, où il obtient un premier prix d’analyse en 2019. Enfin en 2020, il obtient le Master (ancien premier prix) de Composition du CNSMDP avec la plus haute mention.

 

Samir Amarouch a remporté le prix du jury au concours international de composition de Boulogne Billancourt en 2014. En 2015 il est lauréat de la fondation Meyer. En 2019, l’Académie des beaux-arts lui décerne un Prix d’encouragement et en 2020, il reçoit le prestigieux Prix de Composition de la Fondation Ernst Von Siemens.